Awards-GEQO 2014

Once finalised the procedures established in the GEQO Award Statutes, the winners of the 2014 edition are:

GEQO Gold Medal: Prof. Juan Forniés
GEQO Award for Research Excellence: Dra. Elena Fernández
GEQO Award to Young Researchers: Dr. Julio Lloret

The Awards were given during the Group Meeting in Tarragona

GEQO-Gold Medal for Organometallic Research


El Prof. Juan Forniés Gracia has more than 45 years of research experience, basically at the University of Zaragoza, except for a post-doctoral period at Prof. F. Gordon Stone (1975–76) and nine months in which he was Associated Professor at the University of La Laguna. He is full Professor at the Inorganic Chemistry Department since 1983 (nowadays emeritus) where he combined his teaching and research duties in the area of inorganic and organometallic chemistry.
His main research areas are:

  • Group 10 (Ni, Pd, Pt) compounds with new coordination modes and unusual oxidation states.
  • Study of weak interactions of the type M←XR with halogenated hydrocarbons
  • Study of activation processes of C–F, C–C and C–H bonds
  • Polynuclear complexes, with and without metal–metal bonds, synthesis and study of luminescent complexes and their applications in phosphorescent compounds or doping agents for OLEDs.

He is co-author of more than 330 publications in his area.

GEQO-Excellence in Organometallic Chemistry Research Award

Dra. Elena Fernández was awarded GEQO-Excellence Price in Organometallic Chemistry being 45 years old, with more than 22 years of research experience. He passion for organometallic chemistry originates from the lessons she received from Prof. Virtudes Moreno (nowadays retired, from University of Barcelona). But, it was thanks to the opportunities offered by Prof. Carmen Claver (URV) that she got directly involved in organometallic chemistry, getting a PhD in the area of Rh(I) complexes and their activity in sugars hydroformylation (1995). The background in organic chemistry was due to the supervision of Prof. Sergio Castillón (URV). The combination of both areas allowed her to face the challenge of developing the first asymmetric catalytic hydroboration-amination with Rh(I), at the Unversity of Oxford, under the supervisión of Prof. John Brown (1995-1997). This was the origin of the interest of Elena for the understanding of reactions dealing with the addition of borinating agents to unsaturated substrates, in a selective manner. This research line was continued when she came back to Spain as Lecturer in 1997. From this moment she starts an independent research career mainly focused in metal-catalyzed hydroboration, dihydroboration and b-boration catal. Her main goal is the development of highly selective processes (particularly enantioselective) in the formation of C-B bonds, to later on functionalize them with retention of selectivity, o directly used in biomedical applications. Elena usually says that the achievements are due to the small contributions of all the team, not only PhD students, but also technicians (such as Ramon Gerrero in NMR and national and international collaborators. Her main daily motivation is to take as much profit as posible to every single day, recognizing all the results that form future doctors and letting herself be impressed by the unexpected. “Aprender del día a día de la química y de las personas que la manipulan, permiten que el trabajo sea apasionante, y si se consigue generar nuevos conceptos…, éstos deben ser transferidos a través de comunicaciones escritas y foros para llevar el mensaje a la comunidad científica y contribuir al avance de la disciplina.”

GEQO-Young scientist Award

Dr. Julio Lloret Fillol was born in Carcaixent (Valencia) en 1977. He doctorate in 2006 by the University of Valencia under the supervision of Prof. Pascual Lahuerta and Prof. Julia Perez-Prieto, working in the synthesis of chiral bimetallic rhodium(II) compounds, their catalytic applications and theoretical studies. In December 2006 he moved to the group of Prof. Lutz H. Gade at the University of Heidelberg (Germany) as postcotoral researcher granted by MEC (2006-2008) and Marie Curie IEF (2008-2010). His work focused on enantioselective catalysis and in the study of the reaction mechanisms using titanium, zirconium and hafanium organometallic complexes. In April 2010, he joined the University of Girona as Ramon y Cajal fellow, and more recently he incorporated at Institut de Química Computacional i Catàlisi as joung group leader ( Currently, his research lines are focused on the development of sustainable catalysis and activation of small molecules.